2013-01-31 / Community News

College News

University of North Dakota, Grand Forks

Sophia Lawler of Linton, daughter of Todd and Margie Lawler, is among the 80 University of North Dakota students, mostly freshmen, to receive the D.J. Robertson Award for earning “straight A” averages for the 2012 Fall semester.

The award is presented to students who earn 4.0 grade point averages (straight A) for the semester, while completing a minimum of 12 graded hours of academic coursework.

The award honors the late D.J. Robertson, the first dean of UND’s University College and a faculty member for 37 years. Robertson helped create University College in 1955 and served as its dean until retiring in 1978. He passed away in 1993.

To qualify for the University of North Dakota President’s Roll of Honor, a student must have an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.80 or higher. The student must also have earned a minimum of 30 semester hours and have completed a minimum of 12 hours at the close of the semester, eight of which must be for traditional letter grades.

UND students from the area who made the Fall 2012 list are: Sarah Lawler of Linton, daughter of George and Gloria Lawler andAlexis Nicholson of Moffit, daughter of Bernard and Gale Nicholson.

Dickinson State University Dickinson

The fall 2012 Dickinson State University dean’s list has been released. In order to be academically eligible to be placed on the dean’s list, students must have a grade point average of 3.5 (on a 4.0 scale) and have completed at least 12 credits during the semester.

Candidates named to the dean’s list include: Zachary Tesky of Linton, son of Ross Tesky and Renae Silbernagel: Sarah Naaden, of Braddock, daughter of Mark and Tami Naaden.

Return to top