2013-01-31 / Top News

Linton hosts Invitational Speech Meet

The Linton Invitational Speech Meet was held on Saturday, January 19, in the Linton High and Middle Schools. This year’s event consisted of 14 Class A and Class B schools, making each of the 14 events statequalifying.

For Linton/ Strasburg-Zeeland, Darian Pearson placed 3rd in Humorous Interpretation, and Garrick Voigt placed 3rd in Dramatic Interpretation. Voigt also teamed up with Jace Ferderer to place 6th in Humorous Duo. Ferderer and Megan Schumacher placed 5th in Serious Duo, and Schumacher placed 4th in Poetry Interpretation.

Samantha Barfield placed 4th in Extemporaneous Programmed Reading, and 7th in Poetry Interpretation, while Kevin Knapp and Shantel Lang placed 6th in Serious Duo. Other participants for Linton/S-Z included Anna Vander Laan and Madison Schatz of Linton; Drew Ellingson and Taylor Ryckman of Strasburg; and Hope Ebel and Casondra Rutschke of Zeeland. The Linton/Strasburg-Zeeland Speech team is coached by Mrs. Sandy Meidinger, and she is assisted by Mrs. Diane Nagel.

Other teams competing in the meet were Ashley, Beulah, Bismarck Century, Bismarck St. Mary’s, Bismarck Simle Middle School, Edgeley, Harvey, Kulm, LaMoure, Mandan, New Salem-Almont, Washburn and Wishek.

All of the champions in individual events qualified for the State Speech Meet. If the top two placers in a category were from different classes, both place winners qualified for state in their respective class. Champions, runnersup and state qualifiers at the Linton Invitational Speech Meet were:

Extemp. Speaking— Madelyn Reichert, Bismarck St. Mary’s (1st); Jake Voeller, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd).

Radio— Nick Due, Washburn (1st, SQ-B); Tory Jones, Harvey (2nd).

Humorous Int.—Kayle Borner, Washburn (1st, SQB); Grace Letteer, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd, SQ-A).

Serious Prose—Morgan Heier, Bismarck St. Mary’s (1st, SQ-A); Cordell Wagner, Harvey (2nd, SQ-B).

Speech to Entertain— Cordell Wagner, Harvey (1st, SQ-B); Tanner Due, Washburn (2nd).

Speech to Persuade— Amanda Bitz, LaMoure (1st, SQ-B); Reece Burckhard, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd, SQ-A).

Speech to Inform—Amanda Bitz, LaMoure (1st, SQB); Kourtney Carr, Beulah (2nd).

Poetry Int.— Julianna Wolff, Wishek (1st, SQ-B); Sommer Wild, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd, SQ-A).

Programmed Reading— Rachel Goettle, Bismarck St. Mary’s (1st, SQ-A); Kourtney Carr, Beulah (2nd, SQ-B).

Impromptu Speaking— Kellen Tibor, Bismarck St. Mary’s (1st, SQ-A); Dominick Goettle, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd).

Dramatic Int.— Kylie Rush, Bismarck St. Mary’s (1st, SQ-A); Hannah Isakson, LaMoure (2nd, SQ-B).

Storytelling—Nick Due, Washburn (1st, SQ-B); Sommer Wild, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd, SQ-A).

Humorous Duo—Kylie Rusch/Katie Rasmussen, Bismarck St. Mary’s (1st, SQ-A); Katie Aberle/Becka Tyler, LaMoure (2nd, SQ-B).

Serious Duo—McKenzie Miller/ Patrick Pochant, Washburn (1st, SQ-B);Emilie Swonger/Rachel Goettle, Bismarck St. Mary’s (2nd, SQ-A).

Return to top