2013-02-14 / Columns

Record Sports Time Capsule


Feb. 15, 2003 (ASHLEY) —Linton erased a 7-point deficit in the fourth quarter, and closed out the game with a 15-5 run to pull out a 42-39 victory over Gackle- Streeter in the District 6 Girls’ Basketball Tournament Championship game. Carissa Schatz led Linton with 16 points and 5 steals, while Lacy Dockter scored 8 points, and Briana Schmaltz tallied 7 points and 3 steals. Whitney Flyberg added 5 points, April Larson finished with 4 points and 4 rebounds, and Ashlee Bodvig chipped in 2 points and 6 rebounds for the Lady Lions. Amy Groth, who was later named District 6 Outstanding Senior Player, scored 16 points and pulled down a game-high 10 rebounds for Gackle- Streeter, and other Lady Oriole scorers were Brittany Spitzer 8, Amber Elhard 7, Emily Wegner 6, and Brooke Spitzer 2.


Feb. 15, 1983 (STRASBURG)— Virgil Scherr scored a game-high 32 points, and the Emmons Central Knights held off Steele, 48-47. Scherr scored 19 of Emmons Central’s 23 secondhalf points, including the Knight’s final 7 points of the game. John Bachmeier (12) and John Baumgartner (4) were the only other scorers for Emmons Central, and Eugene Kramer pulled down 11 rebounds for the Knights, who improved to 14-3 on the season. Marty Hochhalter led Steele with 19 points, while Darrin Stein and Colin Schmidt scored 11 points apiece for the Pirates.


Feb. 10, 1973 (LINTON) —Five Linton wrestlers qualified for the State Class B Tournament by placing in the top two in the regional tournament. Curt Nicklos (155), Terry Ibach (180) and William Ibach (Hwt.) each won individual championships for Linton, while Dennis Silbernagel (105) and Robert Kuntz (138) each placed second for the Lions. Remaining champions were George Sperle (98), Bill Kuntz (105), Gerald Horner (126), Jerry Ternes (132), Paul Weigel (145) and Doug Friestad (167), all of Napoleon; Albert Schumacher (112) and Larry Meier (119), both of Zeeland; and Ron Hoffman (138) of Ashley. Other Linton participants were Clyde Nicklos (4th at 98), Dennis Schumacher (3rd at 112), Kevin Leier (4th at 119),Alan Nagel (4th at 126), Kenny Jacob (3rd at 132), Donnie Bauman (4th at 145) and Joe Kelsch (3rd at 167).

Return to top