2013-02-21 / Sports

Record Sports Time Capsule


Feb. 24, 2003 (HAZELTON)— Four Linton players scored in double figures and the Lady Lions coasted to an 89-31 victory over Pingree- Buchanan-Kensal in the opening round of the Region 3 Girls’ Basketball Tournament. Carissa Schatz paced Linton with 18 points, 6 assists and 3 steals, and Lacy Dockter tallied 12 points and 3 rebounds. Ashlee Bodvig (11 pts., 6 rebounds) and Whitney Flyberg (10 pts., 5 steals) also scored in double figures, and Briana Schmaltz (7 rebounds, 3 steals), Janell Huber (3 assists) and April Larson (6 rebounds) chipped in 8 points apiece for the Lady Lions. Jacie Neys led P-B-K with 8 points. In other quarterfinal games, Kulm defeated Wing- Tuttle-Pettibone- Robinson, 49-41; LaMoure rolled over Wishek, 52-19; and Gackle- Streeter downed Litchville- Marion- Montpelier, 47-29.


Feb. 19, 1983 (JAMESTOWN— Linton scored 92 points to finish as the team runner-up in the State Class B Wrestling Tournament. Lisbon claimed the team title with 99.5 points, and rounding out the top five teams were Watford City (83.5), Carrington (80.5) and Velva (80). Tom Silbernagel and Al Schmidt each claimed individual crowns for Linton. Silbernagel recorded a late takedown to edge Tioga’s Mitch Olson, 3-1, in the 112-pound title match, and Schmidt downed Mayville- Portland’s John Bachmeier, 10-4, for the 145-pound crown. Other place winners for Linton were Ron Mosset (3rd at 105), Toby Vetter (4th at 185) and Dion Schmidt (6th at 138). Other participants for Linton were Mike Bernhardt (119), Mike Noel (132), Ed Jacob (155), Tom Lipp (167) and Steve Jahner (Hwt.). Remaining State Champions were Mitch Elijah (98) and Jeff Aberle (132), both of Lisbon; Wayne Hample (105) of LaMoure, Chuck Moe (119) of Tioga, Dave Hilliard (126) of Lakota, Joe Roth (138) of Central Cass, Robin Schwartz (155) of Watford City, Jeff Kvamme (167) of Velva, Mike Osland (185) of Mayville-Portland, and Kevin Hamm of Fargo Oak Grove. Linton Head Coach Dan Imdieke was selected as the 1983 State Class B Wrestling Coach of the Year.


Feb. 23, 1963 (BRADDOCK)— Braddock advanced to the Class C District 10 Tournament in Pettibone by downing the Cleveland Bears, 45-38, in the South District 10 Division Tournament. Cleveland reached the championship with a 50-29 victory over Driscoll the previous night. Team members for Braddock were Terry Hager, Pius Kuhn, Lauren Saville, Larry Rambough, Don Hoffman, David Kuipers, Arnie Moch and Pat Silvernagel. The Bobcats are coached by Richard Ulrich.

Return to top