2013-04-04 / Sports

Boys’ and Girls’ All-SCC hoop teams announced

The 2012-13 All-South Central Conference Boys’ and Girls’ Basketball teams were recently announced.

On the Boys’ side, cochampion Strasburg-Zeeland landed three players on the All-SCC squad, while cochampion Linton-HMB, along with South Border, South Border and Kidder County each had two members on the All-SCC squad. Strasburg-Zeeland’s picks were Kyle Nieuwsma, Cole Nieuwsma and Brody Nieuwsma; while Linton- HMB’s selections were Mason Ryckman and Ryan Schneider. South Border’s representatives were Michael Jacobson and Hunter Pinke; and Kidder County’s picks were Cole Scherbenske and Ryan Sand. Remaining All- SCC picks included Logan Hanson of Edgeley-Kulm- Montpelier, Adam White of Ellendale, Trent Fettig of Napoleon, and Brett Williams of Central Prairie.

Honorable Mention selections to the All-SCC team included Tyler Humann of Linton-HMB, Jordan Leier of Kidder County, Connor Entzi of Edgeley-Kulm-Montpelier, and Alex Essinger of Central Prairie.

Strasburg-Zeeland and Linton-HMB shared the team title in the South Central Conference with 11-1 records. Edgeley-Kulm-Montpelier (4-3) finished third, South Border (6-6) finished 4th, and Ellendale (3-4) finished in 5th place. Kidder County (5-7) and Napoleon (2-10) finished 6th and 7th, respectively, and Central Prairie (1-11) finished 8th in the SCC.

SCC Champion Napoleon, along withLinton-HMB Kidder County, Ellendale and South Border each landed two players on the All-SCC team on the Girls’ side. Sheridon Dewald and Kendra Weigel were selected to the team from Napoleon, while McKenna Flyberg and Kaidra Larson were All-SCC picks from Linton-HMB. Kidder County (Sadie Rohrich and Morgan Rohrich), Ellendale (Madilyn Bommersbach and Dacey Fuller) and South Border (Kalli Scherbenske and Madison Schnabel) each had two selections, and the remaining members of the All-SCC team were Courtney Bubach of Strasburg-Zeeland and Noelle Moser of Central Prairie.

Honorable Mention selections to the All-SCC team included Mariah Jangula of Napoleon, Alex Umber of Linton-HMB; Ali Wolf of Strasburg-Zeeland; Mary Nicholson of Kidder County; Kelsey Feist and Olivia Anderson, both of Edgeley-Kulm-Montpelier; and Madison Moldenhauer, Courtney Heupel and Jaycee Moldenhauer, all of Central Prairie.

Napoleon captured the South Central Conference team championship with an 12-0 record, followed by Linton- HMB ( 9- 3) and Kidder County (8-4). Ellendale (4-3) finished 4th, Strasburg-Zeeland (5-7) finished 5th, followed by South Border (4-8), Central Prairie (1-11) and Edgeley-K-M (0-7).

Return to top