2013-04-18 / Sports

Record Sports Time Capsule


April 19, 2003 (LINTON)— Fourteen teams and 97 players participated in the 12th Annual Linton Spring Spectacular Boys’Basketball Tournament. The Yellowjackets won the title in the ACC (high school) Division. Team members were Steven Weber of Linton, Jesse Feist of Strasburg-Zeeland, Eric Geisler of Kulm, Neal Ulmer of Wishek, Paul Schaaf of Glen Ullin, Jostin Schaeffer of Pollock, S.D., and Andy Bramer of Verndale, Minn. The Boilermakers won the championship of the Big Ten (junior high) Division. Team members were Bryce Weber, Kirk Praus, Josh Sathren and Andy Bosch, all of Linton; Aaron Knoll of Ashley, Aaron Gall of Wishek, and Matt Hagen of Oakes.


April 15, 1993 (STEELE) —Linton scored 80 points to win the Girls’ team championship of the Steele Invitational Track Meet. Rachel Henkelmann captured individual titles in the 200-meter and 400-meter dashes for Linton, while the Lady Lion 800-meter relay (Henkelmann, Amy Gimbel, Kristie Weigel and Jennifer Pocta) also captured first place. On the Boys’ side, Linton’s Matt Henkelmann captured the title in the long jump, and he was also part of the Lion’s winning 400-meter and 800-meter relay teams. Other members of the teams were Bryce Sowitch, Ryan Svalen and Steve Schumacher.


April 19, 1983 (LINTON)— Linton scored 157.5 points to run away with the Girls’ team title at the Emmons County Invitational Track Meet. Linton’s Jill Jahner won the 100-meter and 200-meter dashes, along with the long jump, while teammate Shelly Ballard captured titles in the shot put and discus. Other individual champions for Linton were Carmen Greff (800-meter run) and Michelle Schneider (javelin). Laura Schloss of Napoleon and Karla Kurtz of Gackle were the only other multiple champions. Schloss captured titles in the 400-meter dash and high jump, and Kurtz won the 100-meter and 300-meter hurdle events. Other individual champions were Cara Weiser (1,600-meter run) of Hazelton, and Stacy Kuhn (3,200-meter run) of Napoleon. Linton (Lisa Bosch, Jodi Dockter, Julie Horner and Jill Jahner) captured the 400-meter relay, while Napoleon won the 800-meter (Julie Horner, Cindy Schneider, Mary Schloss and Laura Schloss); 1,600-meter (Horner, Schneider, Stacy Kuhn and M. Schloss) and 3,200-meter (Kuhn, Sherri Gums, Lisa Sperle and M. Schloss) relays.

Return to top