2013-05-02 / Sports

Record Sports Time Capsule


May 1, 2003 (GRAND FORKS)— Six Emmons County players have been selected to play in the 30th Annual Shrine All-Star Football Classic. Steven Weber (TE-CB), Brent Ohlhauser (RB-LB) and Jeremy Bitz (OL-DL) of Linton-HMB; and Brian Dykema (TE-LB), David Van Boven (QB-SS) and Matt Reiner (RB-LB) of Strasburg-Zeeland were selected to play for the 9-Man West team. Ohlhauser and Dykema are three-time Class B All-State selections, while Weber, Bitz and Van Boven were each selected to the 2002 Class B All-State team. Linton-HMB Head Coach Dan Imdieke will be the head coach for the 9-Man West team, and he will be assisted by Kevin Dockter of Underwood, Jamie Krenz of Flasher-Carson, and Randy St. Pierre of Trenton-Williston Trinity Christian.


April 29, 1998 (LAMOURE)— The Linton Lady Lions shot a 404 to capture the team title in the LaMoure Invitational Girls’Golf Tournament. Linton’s Lacey Carr was the individual Medalist with a 93, and Katie Carr was the runner-up with a 96. Brittany Sedler of Griggs County placed third with a 97, followed byArika Wetsch (98) of Ashley and Kari Bitz (100) of LaMoure. Other Lady Lion golfers were Mary Praus (106), Heather Benz (109), Nikki Jahner (110) and Amanda Dockter (118).


April 30, 1978 (LINTON)— Linton won 10 of 15 events and scored 88 points to capture first place in the Girls’ Division of the Linton Invitational Track Meet. Individual champions for Linton included Laurie Humann (long jump and high jump), Lora Schumacher ( 440- yard dash), Linda Bauman (880-yard run), Rita Jacob (mile run), Carmilla Oberlander (110-yard hurdles) and Mary Hogue (discus). Linton also won titles in the 440-yard, 880- yard and 880-yard medley relays. Hazelton won the mile relay, and other individual champions were Sheila Wald (100-yard and 220-yard dashes) and Sue Salwei (javelin), both of Zeeland, and Debbie Burgad (shot put) of Napoleon. Napoleon scored 68.5 points to win the team title in the Boys’ Division. The Imperials won all four relay events, and had individual champions in John Horner (100-yard and 220-yard dashes) and Gregg Becker (high jump and pole vault). Emmons County athletes who won individual titles in the Boys’ Division were Fred Brown (440-yard dash, 880-yard run, and mile run), Brian Rudy (shot put and discus) of Linton, Mark Fischer (javelin) of Hague, and Wally Seibel (330-yard hurdles) of Hazelton. Other individual champions were Mark Dempsey (long jump) and Todd Wangler (110-yard hurdles), both of Wishek.

Return to top